Gus Warr

Investec Champions Cup: Alex Sanderson names a much-changed Sale side for Stormers game

Gus WarrGus Warr is yet to be capped by England but continues to impress for SaleInvestec Champions Cup: Pool 4 – Stormers v SaleVenue: DHL Stadium, Cape Town Date: Saturday 13, January Kick-off: 17:30 GMTCoverage: Score updates and match report on the BBC Sport website

Alex Sanderson has made nine changes to his Sale Sharks starting team for their Investec Champions Cup game against Stormers.

Sale had their 12-game winning home run ended by Bristol Bears last Friday, resulting in changes for the trip to South Africa.

Half-backs Gus Warr and Rob du Preez retain their spot and are joined by returning centre Sam Bedlow.

Full-back Telusa Veainu and number eight Josh Beaumont come in to start.

Winger Alex Wills, who made his Premiership debut against Gloucester this season, earns his first European start in a much-changed backline.

Argentina hooker Agustin Creevy also comes into the side for England international Luke Cowan-Dickie and he is joined by props Ross Harrison and James Harper.

The Sharks impressed despite losing their last European outing against Leinster in Dublin. Having won their opening game of the pool against Stade Francais, a victory away at Stormers would enhance their knockout chances.

  • Who will qualify for the knockout stages?

The South African club name a strong side which includes Springbok fly-half Manie Libbok and full-back Damian Willemse, who started in the World Cup final victory over New Zealand.

Stormers beat defending champions La Rochelle in their last pool game in December after defeat by Leicester Tigers in their opening game.

Read More:   Lionel Messi: Fans angered as World Cup winner fails to play in Hong Kong

Sale’s final pool game is against La Rochelle, with Stormers facing Stade.


Stormers: Willemse; Skosan, Hartzenberg, Du Plessis, Zas; Libbok, Jantjies; Sithole, Venter, Fouche, Smith, Van Heerden, Fourie (capt), Dixon, Dayimani.

Replacements: Dweba, Vermaak, Harris, Evans, Theunissen, Xaba, De Wet, Gelant.

Sale: Veainu; Reed, James, Bedlow, Wills; R Du Preez, Warr; Harrison, Creevy, Harper, Hill, Bamber, Dugdale, B Curry (capt), Beaumont.

Replacements: Cowan-Dickie, Onasanya, Opoku-Fordjour, Birch, Taylor, Thomas, Curtis, Ma’asi-White.

Referee: Luc Ramos (Fra)

  • Subscribe to the Rugby Union Weekly podcast